WROC 10 2017
NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic Orchestra © Lukasz Rajchert
1 / 136

Go back


Hiroshima-born conductor Eiji Oue was strongly influenced as an artist by his collaboration with Leonard Bernstein. Oue worked with Bernstein for many years, for example, on the Hiroshima Peace Concert in 1985, in memory of the atomic bombing of the city. Eiji Oue and the NFM Wrocław Philharmonic Orchestra open their programme with a work by Krzysztof Penderecki that is dedicated to the victims of the bombing, followed by 20th-century American works by Bernstein and Aaron Copland.


Krzysztof Penderecki: Threnos - Den Opfern von Hiroshima (1960) für 52 Saiteninstrumente
Leonard Bernstein: Serenade (1954) nach Plato's Symposium für Solovioline, Streicher, Harfe und Percussion
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring - Orchester-Suite
Leonard Bernstein: Symphonische Tänze aus: West Side Story

Go back